The Criminal Injury Compensation Scheme (CICA Scheme) is a government funded scheme designed to compensate blameless victims of violent crime such as sexual abuse and assault. The scheme is administered by the Criminal Injuries Compensation Authority (CICA).

The current scheme applies to all those who have sent an application on or after the 27th of November 2012. CICA UK’s aim is to help victims of crime claim compensation using the CICA scheme to do so.

Rules of the CICA Scheme

Although the CICA scheme aims to help as many people injured by crime as possible there are certain rules that apply which are set by Parliament. These rules are there to make sure the compensation is awarded fairly and to avoid fraudulent claims.


Getting help with your CICA schema application

CICA UK are here to guide you through the process of claiming compensation for your injuries through CICA. We can provide invaluable free advice with an initial consultation to discuss what has happened, what services we can provide for you and if you are wanting to apply for compensation we will also guide you through the whole process of application.

The amount of compensation depends on the severity and nature of the injuries sustained, the effect the injuries have had on your life since the incident and whether or not this has affected your life financially since the accident.

CICA SchemeThe CICA scheme uses a tariff system to calculated the amount of compensation.

CICA Scheme tariff

The CICA Scheme uses a 35 tier system split into two sections to decided the compensation amounts for the claim, the tiers are Level A1-A20 and B1-B15. The minimum amount for a successful claim on the scheme is £1,000 with the maximum being £250,000.

cica-scheme-lawThe scheme splits compensation amounts into two parts, part A and part B.

Part A of the CICA tariff covers injuries such as burns, paralysis, medically recognised illness, mental injury, peripheral sensory nerve damage and motor nerve damage as well as injuries to the head and neck, upper limbs, torso and lower limbs.


Part B of the tariff covers fatal injuries, physical abuse in adults, sexual abuse, child abuse, infection as a result of sexual abuse and loss of foetus.

The specifics of the tariff are as illustrated in the following tables.

 Level A1 £1,000
 Level A2 £1,500
 Level A3 £1,800
 Level A4 £2,400
 Level A5 £3,500
 Level A6 £4,600
 Level A7 £6,200
 Level A8 £11,000
 Level A9 £13,500
 Level A10 £16,50
 Level A9 £13,500
Level A10 £16,500
Level A11 £19,000
Level A12 £22,000
Level A13 £27,000
Level A14 £33,000
Level A15 £44,000
Level A16 £55,000
Level A17 £82,000
Level A18 £110,000
Level A19 £175,000
Level A20 £250,000
Level B1 £1,000
Level B2 £1,500
Level B3 £2,000
Level B4 £3,300
Level B5 £4,400
Level B6 £5,500
Level B7 £6,600
Level B8 £8,200
Level B9 £11,000
Level B10 £13,500
Level B11 £16,500
Level B12 £22,000
Level B13 £27,000
Level B14 £33,000
Level B15 £44,000